An Award-winning

Faculty

Our faculty is made up of accomplished visionaries who believe in the power of your ideas.Although our Faculty is focused on their research to make the world a better place, they are also dedicated to training the next generation of talented Biologist. Driven by the School’s theme MIND | BODY | WORLD, they are also more than happy to help you realize those ideas.
    • 7 AAAS Fellows

      7 Faculty members have been named AAAS Fellows by the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

    • A Diverse Faculty

      The MBB faculty research interests include cell repair and regrowth, cancer origins, developmental disorders and more.

    • Collaboration

      MBB faculty travel around the world to collaborate with top scientists and researchers from many distinguished institutions.

Faculty Directory

goulding

Celia Goulding

celia.goulding@uci.edu

Research Focus: Structural and biochemical studies of molecular assemblies in Mycobacterium tuberculosis.

View Faculty Profile
Dr. Rachel Barry

Rachael Barry

rmbarry@uci.edu

Research Focus: Science Education

View Faculty Profile
Dr. Suzanne Bohlson

Suzanne Bohlson

bohlsons@uci.edu

Research Focus: Biotechnology education, innate immunity, complement, macrophage activation

 

View Faculty Profile
Alexander Boiko-crop

Alexander D. Boiko

aboiko@uci.edu

Research Focus: Tumor Initiating Cells, Melanoma Immunotherapy, Tumor Evolution and Heterogeneity, Signal transduction in normal and cancer stem cell development.

View Faculty Profile
108 M.Buchmeier

Michael J. Buchmeier

m.buchmeier@uci.edu

Research Focus: Arenaviruses, Coronaviruses, Biology of RNA Viruses, Viral Pathogenesis, Structural Biology of Viruses, Biology of Zoonotic and Emerging Viruses, Biodefense.

View Faculty Profile
Cocco_Melanie.MBB.4947

Melanie Cocco

mcocco@uci.edu

Research Focus: NMR spectroscopy, DNA-binding proteins, membrane proteins, cancer.

View Faculty Profile
266 M.Cumsky

Michael G. Cumsky

mgcumsky@uci.edu

Research Focus: Mitochondrial protein import; regulation of gene expression in yeast.

View Faculty Profile
159 uci

David A. Fruman

dfruman@uci.edu

Research Focus: Targeting signal transduction pathways in leukemia, lymphoma and autoimmune disease.

View Faculty Profile
Gershon_Paul.MBB.5129

Paul D. Gershon

pgershon@uci.edu

Research Focus: Protein mass spectrometry/systems biology; virus-host systems; virus structure; protein experimental molecular dynamics.

View Faculty Profile
Charles Glabe

Charles G. Glabe

  cglabe@uci.edu

Research Focus: Amyloid A b peptide in Alzheimer’s pathogenesis; gamete recognition.

View Faculty Profile
Shane Gonen

Shane Gonen

  gonens@uci.edu

Research Focus: Electron cryo-microscopy (Cyro-EM); Membrane proteins; Protein complexes; Computational protein design

View Faculty Profile
michael_green

Michael T. Green

m.green@uci.edu

Research Focus: Chemical Biology, Inorganic and Organometallic, Physical Chemistry and Chemical Physics, Theoretical and Computational

View Faculty Profile
Hu_picture

Yilin Hu

yilinh@uci.edu

Research Focus: Bioinorganic Chemistry, Assembly & Function of Metalloproteins

View Faculty Profile
Christopher Hughes

Christopher C.W. Hughes

 cchughes@uci.edu

Research Focus: Regulation of angiogenesis, tissue engineering and microphysiological systems

View Faculty Profile
Matthew Inlay

Matthew Inlay

minlay@uci.edu

Research Focus: Molecular mechanisms regulating developmental fate decisions in embryonic and adult hematopoietic stem cells in mice and humans

View Faculty Profile
“Working hand in hand with thought leaders, scientists, public health personnel and government officials, we expect to lay the foundation for eliminating a disease that affects hundreds of millions of people globally,” says Anthony James, UCI’s Donald Bren Professor of Microbiology & Molecular Genetics and Molecular Biology & Biochemistry.

Steve Zylius / UCI

Anthony A. James

aajames@uci.edu

Research Focus: Genetic engineering of insect vectors of malaria and dengue

View Faculty Profile
Sarah Eichhorn leads a MOOC inspired by the tv show "The Strain"
Steve Zylius/UC Irvine Communications

Pavan Kadandale

 pavan.k@uci.edu

Research Focus: Increasing student learning and retention in Biology

View Faculty Profile
kong-mei-300x300

Mei Kong

meik1@uci.edu

Research Focus: Nutritional microenvironment in tumor development and drug response, metabolism and epigenetics, protein phosphatase regulation in diabetes and obesity

 

View Faculty Profile
Melissa Lodoen

Melissa Lodoen

mlodoen@uci.edu

Research Focus: Host-pathogen interaction, immune evasion, and parasite immunology

View Faculty Profile
Ray Lou

Ray Luo

 ray.luo@ui.edu

Research Focus: Computational biochemistry and molecular biophysics. Intermolecular interactions in proteins and nucleic acids and their applications to drug design

View Faculty Profile
regg

Reginald (Reggie) McNulty

rmcnulty@uci.edu

Research Focus: Cryo-transmission electron microscopy (Cryo-TEM), macromolecular complexes involved in inflammation and cancer

View Faculty Profile
messaoudi-ilhem

Ilhem Messaoudi

imessaou@uci.edu

Research Focus: Viral pathogenesis, host defense, modulation of immunity by nutrition and aging, impact of the microbiome on immunity

View Faculty Profile
Morrissette-2-150x150

Naomi Morrissette

nmorriss@uci.edu

Research Focus: Parasitology, cell biology, microtubules and tubulin function, drug resistance, genetic analysis

View Faculty Profile
thomas

Thomas L. Poulos

poulos@uci.edu

Research Focus: Protein engineering and crystallography

View Faculty Profile
olga Razorenova

Olga Razorenova

 olgar@uci.edu

Research Focus: Biology of cancer, including molecular, cellular and genetic basis of the disease

View Faculty Profile
ribbe_100805_04_sz_hr#56F1C

Markus Ribbe

mribbe@uci.edu

Research Focus: Assembly & Function of Metalloproteins

View Faculty Profile
brian sato

Brian Sato

bsato@uci.edu

Research Focus: Assessment of best practices that enhance student learning, Regulation of worm capture by a nematophagous fungus

View Faculty Profile
Donald F. Senear

Donald F. Senear

dfsenear@uci.edu

Research Focus: Interactions of proteins and DNA in transcriptional regulation

View Faculty Profile
Andrea Tenner

Andrea J. Tenner

atenner@uci.edu

Research Focus: Complement mediated regulation:  Neuroinflammation, Alzheimer’s disease, Neuroprotection, Autoimmunity

View Faculty Profile
Tinoco, Roberto-min

Roberto Tinoco

rtinoco@uci.edu

Research Focus: Mechanisms of T cell exhaustion during chronic viral infection and cancer

View Faculty Profile
Shiou-Chuan (Sheryl) Tsai

Sheryl Tsai

sctsai@uci.edu

Research Focus: Drug design and crystallography of protein complexes

View Faculty Profile
DeansReportPhotos_Jan17-051

Craig Walsh

cwalsh@uci.edu

Research Focus: Signaling in immune homeostasis, tolerance and autoimmunity

View Faculty Profile
Katrine Whitson_174 uci

Katrine Whiteson

Katrine@uci.edu

Research Focus: Host-associated microbial communities in health and disease, polymicrobial interactions, metagenomics, metabolomics

View Faculty Profile
ElizabethBess2018

Elizabeth Bess

enbess@uci.edu

Research Focus: Uncovering chemical reactions encoded in the gut microbiome to understand and treat human disease

View Faculty Profile
john charles chaput

John Charles Chaput

jchaput@uci.edu

Research Focus: Chemical and Synthetic Biology

View Faculty Profile
donald forthal

Donald Forthal

dnfortha@uci.edu

Research Focus: Viral Immunology

View Faculty Profile
Allon_Hochbaum

Allon I Hochbaum

  hochbaum@uci.edu

Research Focus: Biological and bioinspired materials; chemical and biophysical regulation of bacterial biofilms; supramolecular protein assembly

View Faculty Profile
Young_Jik_Kwon

Young Jik Kwon

kwonyj@uci.edu

Research Focus: Gene therapy, drug delivery, cancer-targeted therapeutics, combined molecular imaging and therapy, cancer vaccine

View Faculty Profile
chang C. Liu

Chang C. Liu

ccl@uci.edu

Research Focus: Engineered Genetic Systems for Rapid Evolution, Chemical Biology, Synthetic Biology, and Cell Biology

Lab Website: liulab.com

View Faculty Profile
Andrej Luptak

Andrej Luptak

aluptak@uci.edu

Research Focus: Aptamers and ribozymes

View Faculty Profile
Rachel

Rachel Martin

rachel.martin@uci.edu

Research Focus: Solid-state NMR, protein structure, membrane proteins, physical chemistry, chemical biology

View Faculty Profile
Edward L. Nelson

Edward L. Nelson

enelson@uci.edu

Research Focus: Tumor immunology, dendritic cell biology, and anti-tumor immunotherapeutics

View Faculty Profile
Jennifer Prescher2907_0

Jennifer Prescher

jpresche@uci.edu

Research Focus: Probing biological systems with chemical tools and noninvasive imaging

View Faculty Profile
Elizabeth Read

Elizabeth Louise Read

elread@uci.edu

Research Focus: Computational systems biology and dynamics of adaptive immunity

View Faculty Profile
albert

Albert Siryaporn

asirya@uci.edu

Research Focus: acterial mechano-sensation, signal transduction, virulence regulation, and biofilm development

View Faculty Profile
Robert Spitale

Robert Spitale

 rspitale@uci.edu

Research Focus: Chemistry and Chemical Biology; RNA Biology

View Faculty Profile
Greg Weiss

Greg Weiss

gweiss@uci.edu

Research Focus: Inventing chemical tools to explore biology at the level of atoms and bonds

View Faculty Profile
Dana Aswad headshot

Dana W. Aswad

dwaswad@uci.edu

Research Focus: Regulation of protein function by covalent modification.

View Faculty Profile
Bernard_Hans_Ulrich.MBB.4908

Hans Ulrich Bernard

hbernard@uci.edu

Research Focus: Gene expression of papillomaviruses; progression of cervical cancer

View Faculty Profile
Hung Fan

Hung Fan

hyfan@uci.edu

Research Focus: Molecular biology and pathogenesis of mouse and human retroviruses

View Faculty Profile
Barbara A. Hamkalo

Barbara A. Hamkalo

bahamkal@uci.edu

Research Focus: Molecular basis of differential chromatin condensation

View Faculty Profile
Ruth Wrightsman-Jerry Manning 3

Jerry E. Manning

jemannin@uci.edu

Research Focus: Major surface proteins and their genes in Trypanosoma cruzi

View Faculty Profile
McPherson_Alexander.MBB.3340

Alexander McPherson

amcphers@uci.edu

Research Focus: Molecular structure of biological materials

View Faculty Profile
Villarreal_Luis.MBB.2705

Luis P. Villarreal

lpvillar@uci.edu

Research Focus: Tissue-specific viral and cellular gene expression; viral vectors

View Faculty Profile